My Waistline Needs Redeeming

June 24, 2008

I have this seersucker suit (although it doesn’t look as cool on me as the guy in the picture). Anyhow, I bought it back in 2001 and well, let’s just say it doesn’t fit like it used to. So, I went to the alterations place today and the lady told me that it would need to be let out a whopping 2 1/2 inches. 2 1/2 inches? Wow. The only problem is that there are only two inches that can be let out. Therefore, I have three options: (1) lose weight, (2) buy another suit, or (3) suck in.

As I was listening to John Piper preach on The Echo and the Insufficiency of Hell this morning, I realized that when I die and am resurrected, I will be given a new body and the clothes that I wear will never need altering because my body will be sinless. Not only will my body be sinless but all the redeemed who live with horrible birth defects, who live in a vegetative state, who live in chronic pain, and who live lives where their bodies just don’t work like they used to, these too will be redeemed. What a wonderful day that will be!

If you’d like to hear a good message on why there is seemingly “pointless” suffering in the world (car accidents, murders, natural disasters, cancer) I highly recommend this message by Piper. You can download it on iTunes dated 6/16/08.

Leave a Reply

